Paris, January 12, 2022

Mr Emmanuel MACRON Président de la République Palais de l'Elysée 55, rue du faubourg Saint-Honoré 75008 Paris

Mr Président,

At a time when France has just begun its six-month presidency of the Council of the European Union, we, European screenwriters and directors, wish to share with you our expectations and hopes for the advancement of authors' rights, the promotion of the right to proportional remuneration for creators and its contribution to the dynamism of creation.

We are at a crossroads.

The adoption of the Copyright Directive in 2019 has been a tremendous asset to better protect authors and better regulate their relationships with their partners. These new rules, which owe much to your commitment and to France's determination, provide a virtuous framework so that Europe can be not only a land of creation but also a place where authors are protected, supported and associated with the success of their works.

However, today, the transposition of this directive in the EU Member States is neither sufficient nor ambitious enough.

By merely repeating the affirmation of the principle of proportional remuneration without giving itself the means to make it a reality, the transposition, in many European countries, could prove very disappointing and thus deprive authors of their legitimate right to receive a proportional remuneration to the revenue generated by the exploitation of their works.

This principle, born of Beaumarchais' struggle more than two centuries ago, is more than ever a pressing issue for a Europe that must assert its identity and its power around the cultural diversity it harbours. It is the condition to guarantee the liveliness of a creation that is as rich and as diverse as ever.

We want to believe that there is still time to redress the balance and to ensure that the countries that have not transposed the directive yet - i.e. the majority of the Member States - adopt better and stronger rules for authors, in accordance with the directive.

Finally, what we call the French model, which is based on the recognition of this right to proportional remuneration, by entrusting the authors' societies that represent us with the task of negotiating with broadcasters and digital platforms, is the best guarantee that a world of discounted copyright will not triumph in Europe, a world in which authors could be deprived of their rights and excluded from any future earnings on their works, without benefiting from the labour collective protections of the Americans.

We are therefore counting on you to make the successful transposition of the Copyright Directive, and in particular Article 18 - which can make a real difference for European screenwriters and directors - one of your priorities for culture in Europe during the French Presidency of the EU Council.

There is an opportunity to create a sustainable European audiovisual area that develops and enriches itself while respecting and supporting authors. However, without your commitment and the mobilisation of France, we fear that this momentum triggered by the directive will run out of steam before authors are guaranteed a fair share of the value of their works from those who distribute and exploit them, in particular the digital platforms.

We are convinced that France can carry this common hope and make its partners, both the States and the European Commission, understand the need for a truly ambitious transposition for authors.

We hope that you will give our appeal a sympathetic reading, and we ask you to accept, Mr President, the assurance of our highest consideration.

## Signatories

Robert Alberdingk Thijm Pupi Avati Marco Bellocchio Reinhold Bilgeri Fred Breinersdorfer Isabel Coixet Jean-Pierre Dardenne Benedikt Erlingsson Matteo Garrone Jochen Greve Jan Hřebejk Kamen Kalev Peter Kosminsky Jean-Xavier de Lestrade Umberto Marino Laura Morante Paul Powell Corneliu Porumboiu Jean-Paul Salomé Hugh Stoddart Paolo Taviani Marco Tullio Giordana Enrique Urbizu Thomas Vinterberg

Roberto Andò Nabil Avouch Lucas Belvaux Werner Boote Mimmo Calopresti Costa-Gavras Luc Dardenne Giuseppe Gaudino Valeria Golino Nicola Guaglianone Dariusz Jablonski Cédric Klapisch Joachim Lafosse Dacia Maraini Urša Menart Pawel Pawlikoswki Peter Payer Francesco Ranieri Martinotti Volker Schloendorff Danis Tanovic Giuseppe Tornatore Fernando Trueba Jaco Van Dormael Susanna White