





Press Release

Brussels, Tuesday 11th April 2017

European screenwriters and directors call for right to fair remuneration online

Ahead of the deadline for amendments of 12th April in the lead committee of the European Parliament, audiovisual authors call for a concrete measure to turn the positive rhetoric on the need for authors to be fairly remunerated into reality.

European screenwriters and directors including Pedro Almodovar, Agnieszka Holland and Sir Alan Parker sent a letter to the Members of the Legal Affairs' committee to support the introduction in the EC proposed Directive on Copyright in the Digital Single Market of an amendment that would guarantee audiovisual authors proportionate remuneration wherever their works are exploited online across Europe.

The proposal for <u>amendment</u> introduces an unwaivable and inalienable right to remuneration, paid by video-on-demand services for the making available of audiovisual works, collectively negotiated and enforced.

The signatories are counting on their MEPs to make the Digital Single Market a sustainable environment for audiovisual creators, where they can finally share in the economic success of the exploitation of their works online.

List of signatories of the letter sent on 10th April 2017:

Pedro Almodóvar Jochen Greve Andrea Purgatori Diane Redmond Alejandro Amenabar Agnieszka Holland Christophe Andréi Hrvoje Hribar Michaël R. Roskam Maciei Karpinski Lucas Belvaux Marie Roussin Monica Boracco Cédric Klapisch Stefano Sardo Iciar Bollain Daniele Luchetti Maurizio Sciarra John Boorman Lars Lundström Birgitte Stærmose Radu Mihaileanu **Hugh Stoddart** Francesco Bruni Peter Carpentier Caroline Otto Charles Sturridge Dan Clifton Sir Alan Parker István Szabó Stijn Coninx Sverre Pedersen Robert Taylor Klemen Dvornik Felix Van Groeningen Adela Peeva

FERA - Founded in 1980, the Federation of European Film Directors contains 39 directors' associations from 29 countries. It speaks for approximately 20,000 European screen directors, representing their cultural, creative and economic interests both in Brussels and in the Member States. www.filmdirectors.eu @Film_directors

Press contact: Pauline Durand- Vialle, pdv@filmdirectors.eu - +32 491 52 49 04.

FSE - The Federation of Screenwriters Europe is a network of national and regional associations, guilds and unions of writers for the screen in Europe, created in June 2001. It comprises 25 members from 20 countries, representing more than 7,000 writers in Europe. www.scenaristes.com @ScreenwritersEU **Press contact:** David Kavanagh, david.kavanagh@scenaristes.com + 353 86 837 1203.

SAA - Founded in 2010, the Society of Audiovisual Authors (SAA) is the association of European collective management organisations representing audiovisual authors. Its 31 members in 23 countries manage rights for over 120,000 film, television and multimedia European screenwriters and directors. www.saa-authors.eu @saabrussels

Press contact: Cécile Despringre, c.despringre@saa-authors.eu - +32 475 65 24 99.