

AEPOARTIS

Supported by:



Collective management: A safety net for authors and performers, 17 March 2020

MODERATOR:



Gregor Štibernik, managing director of the Collecting Society of Authors, Performers and Producers of Audiovisual Works of Slovenia (AIPA), has more than 15 years of working experience at the executive level on the field of collective management. Throughout his career, he has been actively involved in the preparation, drafting and implementing of copyright laws and EU regulations related to copyright not only in Slovenia but also internationally. On the International front, he has especially been active in the region of Western Balkans, CEE and CIS countries. He is a Board member of the Society of Audiovisual Authors, AEPO-ARTIS and SCAPR.

Gregor Štibernik

GUESTS:



Yolanda Schweri

<u>@stibernik</u>

Yolanda Schweri is an independent lawyer practicing in Zurich. Since 2010, she is a member of the board of SWISSPERFORM, the Collective Management Organisation for neighbouring rights in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and she chairs the expert group of audiovisual performers within SWISSPERFORM. She also represents SWISSPERFORM within the Administrative Council of AEPO-ARTIS.

<u>@aepoartis</u>



Jochen Greve



Barbara Hayes



Nacho Garcia Vega

Jochen Greve is a German screenwriter for film and TV. He studied communication, theatre and history. Before being a writer, he worked as an assistant director, screenwriter and producer of various academic works, films and TV movies. In the mid-1980s, he started working as an advertisement writer and won a "Silver Lion" at the International Advertising Film in Cannes. In the early 1990s, he started writing just for TV and cinema and his film *Trickser* won several German TV awards. He has written several popular and critically acclaimed television movies including, among others, episodes for the *Tatort* crime fiction series, as well as two episodes of *The Fox (Der Alte*, 2015) and of *Barcelona Crime (Der Barcelona Krimi*, 2017), of the same genre. He also wrote *Marie Brand und die Spur der Angst* which was first broadcasted in 2016. Crime, psychological and intimate plays are his specialities. His last works, four episodes of the TV series *Watzmann ermittelt* will be broadcasted in 2021/22.

Barbara Hayes is the Chair of the Society of Audiovisual Authors since 2015, as well as the Deputy Chief Executive of the Authors' Licensing & Collecting Society in the United Kingdom which she joined in 2004. Since 2007 her work has focused on lobbying for authors' rights at the UK, EU and international level. In the UK, she has been heavily involved with the work of the All Party Writers Group (a cross party group of politicians from both Houses). In Europe, she has worked for a long time with the SAA. She also works closely with the International Authors Forum, at WIPO, in Geneva.

@B Hayes ALCS | @saabrussels

Nacho García Vega (Madrid, 1961) is a Spanish musician, songwriter, producer and founder of Nacha Pop, among other bands. Since 1980, he has recorded and produced more than twenty albums and participated in numerous musical projects, TV shows and tours. He is currently vice-president of AIE, the Spanish Performer's CMO. From 2014, he is Coordinator of CoArtis, a Spanish Artists' coalition that promotes, along with other European coalitions, a review of the rules and the artists' rights in the digital environment. In February 2017, Nacho García Vega was elected President of the International Artist Organisation (IAO) based in Paris.

@NachoGarciaVega

MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT'S CULTURAL CREATORS' FRIENDSHIP GROUP



Alexis Georgoulis

Alexis Georgoulis is an actor, director and a Member of the European Parliament since 2019 (GUE/NGL). He is a member of the CULT and PETI Committees. He is also involved with the Special Committee on Beating Cancer (BECA) and the Disability Intergroup of the European Parliament. His main concern, as an MEP, is to support European culture and cultural creators across Europe and is therefore a founding member of Cultural Creators Friendship Group.

@AlexisMep | @CultCreatorsEU



Niklas Nienaß

Niklas Nienaß, is Member of the European Parliament in the Greens/EFA group since July 2019. As member of the CULT Committee, he has already positioned himself as a proponent of the Cultural and Creative Sectors and a strong voice for authors' and performers' rights in particular, having initiated and leading the EP's "Cultural Creators Friendship Group" as well as being shadow rapporteur for the Creative Europe programme 2021-2027. Nienaß is also coordinator for the Greens/EFA group in the REGI Committee. Furthermore, he is part of the "Spinelli Group", a group of pro-European MEPs from various political groups. Living in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania since 2013, Nienaß describes himself as child of the German reunification and as European.

<u>@nnienass</u> I <u>@CultCreatorsEU</u>



Hannes Heide is an Austrian cultural manager, former mayor of the City of Bad Ischl (European Capital of Culture in 2024) and a Member of the European Parliament since 2019 (S&D). He is a member of the CULT and substitute member of the REGI and CONT Committee. He is also member of the Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly. Hannes Heide is co-owner of the Lehártheater in Bad Ischl and President of the Lehár Festival Bad Ischl. He is chairman of the supervisory board of Kulturhauptstadt Bad Ischl – Salzkammergut 2024 (ECOC).

Hannes Heide

PERFORMERS AND AUTHORS VIDEO MESSAGE:

Robert Alberdingk Thijm, screenwriter, the Netherlands Barbara Białowąs, director, Poland Isabel Blanco, actress, Spain Anne Bouvier, actress, France Sebastian Cavazza, actor, Slovenia Luc Dardenne, director, Belgium Neil Dudgeon, actor, United Kingdom Marie-Castille Mention-Schaar, director and screenwriter, France Gregory Montel, actor, France Katharina Mückstein, director, Austria Kasia Rodowicz, singer, Poland Ivana Sujova, screenwriter, Slovakia